parent or other specified relative and if

they own at least 10% of the company

and are actively engaged in its daily

operations.

Employed as a star or performer in a

motion picture, theatrical, radio or

television production (as long as our

Department is notified in advance).

¢ Involved in a recognized career

educational program, vocational or

technical training school program.

Employed as apprentices and registered

by the Bureau of Apprenticeship and

Training of the U.S. Department of

Labor.

¢ Trained under the 4-H Federal
Extension Service of the U.S. Office of
Education Vocational Agriculture
Training Programs.

¢ Have completed vocational or career

education programs approved by the

Department of Education.

Legally married.

Have a high school diploma or its

equivalent.

Operating power-driven equipment used

in lawn and shrubbery care and

maintenance, not connected to retail,

food and gasoline service

establishments.
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This brochure is intended to answer some of
the questions asked most often about youth
employment. Information in this brochure
should not be construed as a substitute for
Arizona statutes and rules. To review all youth
employment laws (A.R.S. § 23-230 et seq.) visit
www.azica.gov/Labor.

If you have questions, please contact the
Department of Labor at the Industrial
Commission of Arizona:

800 W. Washington
P.O. Box 19070
Phoenix, AZ 85007
(602) 542-4515
WWW.azica.gov

EED

State of Arizona
YOUTH EMDPDLOYMENT

LAWS

The lndustnal Commission
of Arizona
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working. owever, federal
restrictions under the age of 14. Refer to

www.youthrules.dol.gov.

DO I HAVE TO GET A WORK PERMIT
BEFORE I CAN WORK?

NO, Arizona does NOT issue youth
employment work permits.

CAN AN EMPLOYER ASK ME MY AGE?
YES, to comply with Arizona State age laws.
IS THERE A LIMITED 4 , 3/\@3 v
NUMBER OF HOURS o
I CAN WORK? M

YES, if you are under the age of 16.

Pursuant to Federal Youth Labor Laws:

When school is in session:

¢ Not more than 3 hours a day.

¢ Not more than 18 hours a week.
¢ Not before 7:00 AM.

¢ Not after 7:00 PM.

When school is ﬁot in session:
¢ Not more than 8 hours a day.

¢ Not more than 40 hours a week.

. If you are under the age of 18:

Manufacturing or storing of explosives.
Motor vehicle driver or an outside helper
on a motor vehicle.

Mine or quarry occupations.

Logging occupations including in
connection with mills.

Power-driven woodworking machines.
Exposure to radioactive substances and
to ionizing radiation.

Power-driven hoist or an elevator,
including forklifts, cranes or derricks.
Power-driven metal working, forming,
punching or shearing machines.
Slaughtering, meat packing, processing
or rendering of meat or the operations
involving power-driven meat processing
machines.

Power-driven bakery machinery.
Power-driven paper products machines.
Manufacture of clay construction
products or silica refractory products.
Power-driven saws.

Wrecking, demolition and shipbreaking
operations.

Roofing operations or equipment attached
to or placed on roofs.

Excavation or tunnel operations.

Manufacturing. w
¢ Processing.
¢ Laundering or dry cleaning in —_—
a commercial laundry.
¢ Warehousing.
¢ Construction.
¢ Boiler, furnace or engine rooms.
¢ Work from a ladder, scaffold and window

sill, including window washing.
¢ Any of the following activities in retail
food or gasoline service establishments:
e Maintenance or repair of machines or
equipment.
e Cooking and baking.
e Power-driven food slicers, grinders,
choppers and cutters.
e All work in preparation of meats for
sale.
¢ Activities involved with agriculture.

Remember: The Federal Government has
Yyouth labor laws which can be located at
www. youthrules.dol.gov.

If both federal and state - ——.

laws are applicable, then —= A:
2 = N~
the stricter law governs.




